Posted by: Cooking Thyme | April 3, 2013

Braised Spinach

Many people make the mistake of boiling and squeeze the life out of these young, delicate leaves. I dress it simply vinaigrette or cook it just with a tablespoon of water and a bit of butter

Braised Spinach (7)

  • #400 g spinach
  • juice of ½ lemon
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • grated nutmeg, pinch

The easiest way to cook spinach is in a pan with a knob of butter, a grating of nutmeg and a squeeze of lemon juice covered with a lid to let it steam. This will taste great; serve with fish, meat or even pasta.

Sometimes I simply put the fresh leaves straight onto a piping hot plate literally for a few seconds. They wilt instantly and that’s all the cooking needed.

Responses

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

  2. I totally agree. I grew up eating spinach that has been squeezed dry and now I can’t believe the difference the cooking methode makes when it comes to spinach


Leave a Reply

Categories

